2015: Less was More. November and December.

This time last year, in reviewing 2015,  I commented that my running mileage was the lowest since (my) records began, but this year will beat even that! I’m unlikely to break 900 miles of running in 2016 (longest run 17 miles), but that has somehow managed to result in arguably my best year in terms of results and times. It just shows (again) that pure mileage doesn’t always tell the whole story. I did a lot of miles on the bike last year (over 2,000), but this year it’s getting on for another 300 on top of that. The lack of long, road rides has been a concern, however, and it’s something I’ll need to focus on more of in 2016. Spinning has also been a thing this year and I’m a regular at PedalHouse. Aside from meeting some great people, it’s an excellent addition to the usual runs and rides.

I’ve managed 44 races this year, which spanks last year (by 20), which itself was a high, and it would have been more if it wasn’t for those meddling kids. 😉

November

November began with the lung-bursting National Short Course XC Championships at Bellahouston Park. A killer 4km in the mud. 15.50 for (wait for it) 210th place.

Next up was the Tinto Hill Race, and a challenge to continue my run of PBs for the year. In the end I managed it comfortably, with a 40.43 and 34th place for the 4.2 mile course.

The following weekend it was time for the second in the East District XC League meetings, this time at Alloa. A tough, muddy course meant times were slower than Stirling, but I had a solid run on the 5.4 mile course to finish 121st in 39.51.

The month was rounded off with the first in the 5 race FoxTrail Winter Running Series. 16th (?) in 56.06 for the 8.10 mile course.

December

So December arrived but there was no let up in the races, with the first of the Trossachs Trail Series from Aberfoyle. Not my best performance, managing 38.32 for 24th place on the 5.4 mile course. Details here.

Next came the East District Cross Country Championships, at Livingston. It was great course and it was a case of picking the best line through the mud with the spikes on, but I had a decent run to finish 140th in 40.00 (why couldn’t I have just run 1 second faster?) for the 6 mile course.

And last, but not least, was the final race of the year (tbc!), the second FoxTrail Winter Running Series, this time a 10km (actually 6.45 mile) course at Foxlake. I had a good tussle with a couple of other runners to eventually be overhauled by them to finish 10th in 45.06.

So, a busy year with some good performances and, more importantly, largely issue-free with my arthritic knees. Here’s hoping for more of the same in 2016! Plans for next year include a couple of mountain marathons (Highlander and Mourne), the Jura Fell Race (unfinished business there), more triathlons (including, perhaps, a half Ironman) and generally keeping busy. Hopefully Archie can join me on more races too. Happy days. 🙂

Leave a Reply

