2015: Less was More. September and October.

This time last year, in reviewing 2015,  I commented that my running mileage was the lowest since (my) records began, but this year will beat even that! I’m unlikely to break 900 miles of running in 2016 (longest run 17 miles), but that has somehow managed to result in arguably my best year in terms of results and times. It just shows (again) that pure mileage doesn’t always tell the whole story. I did a lot of miles on the bike last year (over 2,000), but this year it’s getting on for another 300 on top of that. The lack of long, road rides has been a concern, however, and it’s something I’ll need to focus on more of in 2016. Spinning has also been a thing this year and I’m a regular at PedalHouse. Aside from meeting some great people, it’s an excellent addition to the usual runs and rides.

I’ve managed 44 races this year, which spanks last year (by 20), which itself was a high, and it would have been more if it wasn’t for those meddling kids. 😉

September

September was always going to be the big month of the year, in terms of the scale of the events, and so it proved. First up with the Craggy Island Triathlon, a cracking event that I’ll definitely be doing again in 2016. The swim, from Oban to the island of Kerrera, was harder than the advertised 500m, and the bike and run legs were testing and great fun. I just missed out on a medal, finishing 4th MV in 15th place in 1 hour 39.57.

Next up was the ever popular Simon Wake Comrie Hills Relays. I ran leg 1 for the Carnethy MV40 team, and we won that category, finishing 5th overall. 6.9 miles in 53.12.

It was then time for one of the big events of the year, a three day excursion to Ireland for the Mourne Mountain Marathon. Joel Sylvester and I competed in the B Class, and it was  a memorable weekend, finishing 7th overall (after a very good 4th on day 2). I’ll be back next year! More details here.

The month was rounded off in the toughest way possible with the 53rd 3 Peaks Cyclocross. To say this was challenging would be an understatement. I finished in 434th place in 5 hours 02.39 minutes, with much work to be done to put up a better show in 2016. Details here.

October

October saw my first foray into race organising , with the Scottish Long Coastal Relays. Everything went smoothly and the inaugural trophy was won by HBT. Something to build on in 2016.

Next up was the Manor Water Hill Race, where Archie and I swept the back of the field – his longest ever run!

There followed the first in the East District Cross Country League meetings, at Stirling University. A solid run, in a strong field, brought me home in 124th place in 36.17 for the 5.4 miles.

October finished with a 5km PB for Archie at the Cramond Parkrun. A very respectable 24.29 for the lad!

Leave a Reply

