2015: Less was More. July and August.

This time last year, in reviewing 2015,  I commented that my running mileage was the lowest since (my) records began, but this year will beat even that! I’m unlikely to break 900 miles of running in 2016 (longest run 17 miles), but that has somehow managed to result in arguably my best year in terms of results and times. It just shows (again) that pure mileage doesn’t always tell the whole story. I did a lot of miles on the bike last year (over 2,000), but this year it’s getting on for another 300 on top of that. The lack of long, road rides has been a concern, however, and it’s something I’ll need to focus on more of in 2016. Spinning has also been a thing this year and I’m a regular at PedalHouse. Aside from meeting some great people, it’s an excellent addition to the usual runs and rides.

I’ve managed 44 races this year, which spanks last year (by 20), which itself was a high, and it would have been more if it wasn’t for those meddling kids. 😉

July

July was a busy month, with 6 events, starting off with the East Lothian Summer Series Event at Longniddry. All was going well until a spooked horse disrupted the rhythm of the race somewhat. 3.7 miles in 22.33.

Next up was the Carnethy Gladhouse Handicap that I helped to organise. A lovely route, in good conditions. 6th in 50.13 for 5.4 miles.

Seona Burnett and I headed up to the Monikie Sprint Triathlon, an open-water event with road bike. I had a decent enough event, in a strong field, coming in on 1 hour 27.13 for 71st place.

Then came the Maddy Moss Hill Race, a 10km midweek classic, where I managed a PB in 1 hour 04.46 for 36th place.

The Cairn Table Hill Race followed, my first running of it, and it was a 21st place finish in 40.23 for the 7.2km course.

The month finished with the rearranged Ben Ledi Hill Race, a modern classic, where I was pipped at the finish by Neil Burnett. 10km in 1 hour 07.01 for 22nd (or was it 23rd ;-)) place.

August

August kicked off with the Aboyne Highland Games Hill Race. I hadn’t done this for a few years and was looking for a PB, which duly arrived (along with a rare victory over clubmate Charlotte Morgan). 6.8 miles in 49.32 for 13th place.

Before heading off to Spain I squeezed in another couple of race, firstly the Carnegie Harriers Memorial race at Knockhill, where my new Vapor Gloves has their first outing. I finished in 25th place in  23.31 for the 3.7 mile course.

The day after was the North Berwick Law Race. I didn’t have the best of runs, but managed a PB nonetheless, in 24.06 for the 4.5km course, finishing 33rd.

In Spain, I managed a fair amount of hill running with Neil and Seona Burnett, and some time on a rental bike (before it was stolen!). Archie couldn’t defend his junior title at the 3rd Marxa amb Obstacles, as it was only the main race this year, but he ran round anyway. And I managed to borrow a top quality road bike for 30 odd miles over the classic El Port de la Selva/Monastery route.

Upon my return from Spain it was straight into things and Jim Hardie and I competed in the Aviemore Triathlons (I did the Short). Another great event with an open water swim PB (18.25) for an overall finish time of 1 hour 18.09 for 22nd place.

 

Leave a Reply

