2015: Less was More. May and June.

This time last year, in reviewing 2015,  I commented that my running mileage was the lowest since (my) records began, but this year will beat even that! I’m unlikely to break 900 miles of running in 2016 (longest run 17 miles), but that has somehow managed to result in arguably my best year in terms of results and times. It just shows (again) that pure mileage doesn’t always tell the whole story. I did a lot of miles on the bike last year (over 2,000), but this year it’s getting on for another 300 on top of that. The lack of long, road rides has been a concern, however, and it’s something I’ll need to focus on more of in 2016. Spinning has also been a thing this year and I’m a regular at PedalHouse. Aside from meeting some great people, it’s an excellent addition to the usual runs and rides.

I’ve managed 44 races this year, which spanks last year (by 20), which itself was a high, and it would have been more if it wasn’t for those meddling kids. 😉

May

First big test of the knees this year was the mighty Stuc a’Chroin 5000 race. The new route was more interesting, and with a covering of snow on the tops it was a tough day out, but I managed (after getting slightly lost on the descent) a PB in 3 hours 31.23 (12.9 miles  – for me!).

Jim Hardie and I headed down to the Tweedbank Duathlon, a low-key race where I again got stumped by directions (and added a bit of distance on to my bike leg), but managed to claim the MV prize in 1 hour 24.57 for the 18.8 miles  (18.3 miles for everyone else!).

Then came another rough course at Goatfell, but I came through almost unscathed for a reasonable run of 1 hour 43.20 for 38th place. Must work on my decent there next year.

The month finished with a 5km PB at the Cramond Parkrun (18.26), for 16th place.

June

June had a couple of false starts, firstly with the Ben Ledi Ascent being cancelled because of high winds, followed by my one and only DNF at the Red Moss Kips Race.

It was business as usual, however, at Traprain Law, where I managed a PB of 45.03 for the 6.1 miles, for 16th place.

The Solstice Triathlon was held in very cold conditions, with a rearranged bike route, but a great evening out nonetheless and my first competitive open water swim to boot. Read more here and here. (12.3 miles in 1 hour 28.23 for 22nd place).

Next followed the Hawick Sprint Triathlon, with Jane Jackson, where my usual poor run was followed by a decent bike and run, bringing me in at 19th place in 1 hour 19.53 (with a new swim PB of 18.37, whoop!).

The half year was rounded off with the Benarty Gala Trail Race, at Lochore Meadows, with a 10th place in 30.52 for the 4.6 miles, which was enough for the MV45 prize.

 

Leave a Reply

