2015: Less was More. March and April.

This time last year, in reviewing 2015,  I commented that my running mileage was the lowest since (my) records began, but this year will beat even that! I’m unlikely to break 900 miles of running in 2016 (longest run 17 miles), but that has somehow managed to result in arguably my best year in terms of results and times. It just shows (again) that pure mileage doesn’t always tell the whole story. I did a lot of miles on the bike last year (over 2,000), but this year it’s getting on for another 300 on top of that. The lack of long, road rides has been a concern, however, and it’s something I’ll need to focus on more of in 2016. Spinning has also been a thing this year and I’m a regular at PedalHouse. Aside from meeting some great people, it’s an excellent addition to the usual runs and rides.

I’ve managed 44 races this year, which spanks last year (by 20), which itself was a high, and it would have been more if it wasn’t for those meddling kids. 😉

March

March kicked off with the Aboyne Duathlon. Great conditions, albeit with a fair headwind, made for a tough but excellent event. I entered the Large, and finished 9th in 1 hour 33.25 (2 x 2.7 mile runs, 18.4 mile ride).

The Ben Gullipen Hill Race followed next. This was a fairly basic up and down along forest tracks, but I had a decent enough run to finish 14th in 1.00.32 for the 8.3 miles.

Jim Hardie and I were again due to compete together at the Tranent Sprint Triathlon, but he had a meeting with some stairs, so I was on my own. I had a swim PB for the 750 metres (18.50.8) and a decent bike/run to finish 43rd in 1 hour 19.33.

The month was rounded off with a John Muir meander with Peter Buchanan. A lovely 10 miles to and from Foxlake, which is covered here.

April

April saw us fly off to our usual skiing trip to Les Coches, where a bout of illness didn’t detract from another cracking week on the slopes with friends.

Straight off the plane and I was over in Fife for the next in the Chequered Flag Duathlon Series of events. A poor run cost me a podium place here, and I finished 4th in 47.59 minutes for the 10.4 mile course (2 run laps of Knockhill Racing Circuit, followed by a Cyclocross section, the 5 road bike laps).

Nick Williamson and I then travelled down to Keswick for the Whinlatter Xtreme Duathlon. This was a very tough event, but hugely enjoyable and despite bonking badly on the second run I finished in 26th place in 3 hours 44.51 for the  course (9km over Grisedale Pike, followed by 25km on MTB trails, then a 9km trail run to finish).

 

Leave a Reply

