2015: Less was More. January and February.

This time last year, in reviewing 2015,  I commented that my running mileage was the lowest since (my) records began, but this year will beat even that! I’m unlikely to break 900 miles of running in 2016 (longest run 17 miles), but that has somehow managed to result in arguably my best year in terms of results and times. It just shows (again) that pure mileage doesn’t always tell the whole story. I did a lot of miles on the bike last year (over 2,000), but this year it’s getting on for another 300 on top of that. The lack of long, road rides has been a concern, however, and it’s something I’ll need to focus on more of in 2016. Spinning has also been a thing this year and I’m a regular at PedalHouse. Aside from meeting some great people, it’s an excellent addition to the usual runs and rides.

I’ve managed 44 races this year, which spanks last year (by 20), which itself was a high, and it would have been more if it wasn’t for those meddling kids. 😉

January

What could be a better start to the racing year with an event on 1st January? It was Edinburgh Triathlete’s New Year’s Day Triathlon. I feel almost like a Sprint Triathlon veteran now, but this was only my second triathlon, and great fun it was. Blowy and wet conditions made for a tough bike leg (I was 4 minutes slower than in training) but I had a decent performance, finishing 28th in 1 hour 21.33 for the 400m swim, 11 mile cycle and 3.5 mile run. My transitions, sadly, haven’t improved much since January.

There followed a couple of events with Archie, the Carnethy Junior Senior Relay in very wintery conditions, and the Great Junior Run at Holyrood Park, where Archie managed the 2.5km course in 13.25 minutes. A fair bit slower than 2014, but it was a different course.

The Bowhill Medium Duathlon followed, where I had a solid performance on bike and foot to finish 8th in 1 hour 02.44 for the 8.5 mile course, leaving me 4th in the MV series with a race still to come.

Neil Burnett and I paired up to take on Leg 3 at the Devil’s Burdens Hill Relays, completing the 6.4 mile section in 52.20.

I rounded January off with the Borders XC Series race at Dunbar. Tired legs from the previous day were evident and it was a sluggish 31.47 minutes for the 4.3 miles.

February

Jim Hardie and I took on the rearranged Chequered Flag Duathlon finishing in 4th and 5th respectively (7.9 miles in 48.53 minutes).

After several fast training runs I was hopeful of a PB in my 6th running of The Carnethy 5 Hill Race, and it came to pass (5.7 miles, 1.07.03). It was my best time, position and SHR percentage in all attempts. The following day I had another running hangover at the Conundrum version of the Borders XC Series, with a run of 30.05 minutes for the 4.1 miles.

The Carnethy Circumnavigation of Edinburgh is always a great, relaxed run and I did my usual segment one of 12 miles, to Portobello.

The following day saw me round off the Bowhill mountain bike duathlon series, finishing in the Long and 4th MV in the Series (20km, 1.40.53 – a new PB).

 

 

Leave a Reply

