Brave new world.

O brave new world,
That has such people in’t!”

The Tempest (V, i), William Shakespeare

Lately, I have been reading blogs, but not really blogging, just thinking about blogging.

Starting a new job, unshackled, along with a significant event in my sector, was the impetus I needed to get going. I think it’s because I don’t have a consistent thought past 140 characters at a time, so I have mini-blog-like posts via twitter. Lately though in my lurking on other blogs, I have seen how blogging is cathartic. It’s like a really good cry in secret. You’re not really sad, but sometimes you need an outlet of emotion so that something little doesn’t trigger the ugly crier in all of us.

I know that I can post about insignificant things like anyone else, but I do try to blog to get out some of the ramblings in my head. But blogging for me will become therapy, I know it will. It’s much easier on the wallet than retail therapy, has opened my eyes to other bloggers that let me escape from my head every once in awhile, and has even introduced me to people I converse with regularly via social media. You find that there are more people on your boat or at least on your body of water that you would have found in traditional means. You also get to read about other events in peoples’ lives that inspire you to do more or motivate you to take the plunge on something that scares the hell out of you.

Blogging really is a therapy that just let’s your mind declutter and rest. I tell myself that I’m not going to fall into the “being really good about updating my blog when I first start. Then as I get bus(ier) then letting it slip.” thing. I guess it depends on what source material comes my way.

Watch this space.

Leave a Reply

